Skip to main content

What's On

October Half Term – Festival of the Dead

Join us to create some spooktacular crafts as part of our Festival of the Dead celebrations.

We’ll be making Day of the Dead Windsocks, Sugar Skull Jars, Painted Festival Eye Masks and so much more!

Designed for age 3+, but all are welcome

Drop in | £2.50, under 2’s are free

Daily activities:

Saturday 19 October: Recycled Cardboard Skulls and Flowers – Craft cardboard into colourful 2D based skulls and flowers to get into the spirit of Dia de los Muertos.

Monday 21 October: Recycled Cardboard Skulls and Flowers 

Tuesday 22 October: Recycled Cardboard Skulls and Flowers

Wednesday 23 October: Dyed Doily Bunting – Use watercolours to make colours blend and mix across multiple doilies and string them together for some festive bunting.

Thursday 24 October: Dyed Doily Bunting 

Friday 25 October: Day of the Dead Windsocks – Make decorations for blowing in the wind as you design sugar skull drawings onto your windsock and adorn with floating ribbons.

Saturday 26 October: Day of the Dead Windsocks 

Monday 28 October: Tissue Paper Flowers – Flowers are a big part of the Day of the Dead traditions to help guide spirits home. In this activity learn to fashion beautiful flowers using tissue paper.

Tuesday 29 October: Tissue Paper Flowers

Wednesday 30 October: Painted Festival Eye Masks – Sugar skulls masks have become one of the most recognised symbols of the Day of the Dead. Make your own mask using bright and colourful paints to wear this Halloween.

Thursday 31 October: Painted Festival Eye Masks 

Friday 1 November: Sugar Skulls Jars – Craft a keepsake jar and decorate with traditional Dia de los Muertos symbols or skulls, skeletons and flowers to keep your pens and pencils in.

Saturday 2 November: Sugar Skull Jars

 

All our family sessions are very popular and at busy times you may be asked to wait.

Please note, children must be accompanied by an adult at all times.

Contact us

Email info@culturecoventry.com or call us on 024 7623 7521.

Keep up to date

For further programme information and behind the scenes insights, join our Mailing List.

Make a difference

Help keep the Herbert free and open to all - Donate